Christmas in July

Anyone who knows me knows that I have a bit of an obsession with Christmas, and anyone who lives in Boston knows how hot and humid it’s been lately. I’ve always been one to stretch out the holiday season for as long as possible, and I really don’t see why I have to wait until next December to enjoy all my favorite holiday activities. So, in an effort to beat the heat and bring some cheer, I decided to throw a Christmas in July party tonight! This is my first post in the Holiday section of this blog, so I thought I’d show you guys what I was thinking for this themed party. So crank up the A/C, break out your favorite holiday album and dust off those cookie sheets 🙂

Nothing says Christmas quite like candy canes! I picked some up for guests to nosh on and put them in a mason jar – delicious and decorative!

I am a huge fan of scented candles, and Yankee Candle does tons of holiday-themed scents like Winter Wonderland, Autumn Wreath and Christmas Eve. Plus, the pretty glow makes any room instantly cozier.

I had to search around a bit at local grocery stores but I was finally able to find eggnog. For the over 21 crowd, brandy adds a nice touch. Cinnamon sticks and a sprinkling of nutmeg complete this classic!

Depending on what kind of party you’re having, you might want to have a movie on stand-by. Elf is a Christmas classic but for a girls’ night, Love Actually is one of my favorites.
For the more creatively inclined, cutting out paper snowflakes is both fun and festive. I like to attach a clear piece of fishing line (all different lengths) to my snowflakes and hang them from the ceiling so it feels like it’s actually snowing.

No themed party is complete without matching nails! If you’re as horrible at painting nails as I am, this simple red polish with a gold sparkly top coat is easy and adorable. If you have a steady hand, maybe try some candy cane stripes or snowflakes .

The night before your party, I recommend whipping up a batch of sugar cookies. Cookie cutters in shapes like candy canes, snowflakes, mittens, trees and gingerbread men are cute and fun to frost. Refrigerate the cookies overnight. Right before the party, cover a table in wax paper and set up bowls of colored frosting and different candies and sprinkles, and let guests decorate their own Christmas cookies – a fun ice breaker that doubles as a party favor!

I am a firm believer that twinkle lights aren’t just for the holidays. Simple strings of white lights strung around the walls are cozy and instantly remind people of the holidays.

If you’re lucky enough to have A/C and you really want to go all out with the Christmas theme, you might want to make it an Ugly Sweater party – just make sure guests bring a t-shirt, too!
Well, that just about does it for my Christmas in July post, I’ll be sure to post some pictures of the actual party on Sunday morning.
Xoxo, 
Sophie

Leave a comment